Review: And Then You Were Gone

Review: And Then You Were Gone

And Then You Were Gone by R.J. Jacobs

Find it on Goodreads | Purchase it on Amazon


My Rating

3.5_Rating_TheReadingConspiracydotcom.png

Official synopsis

For fans of B. A. Paris and Alice Feeney comes a propulsive, twisting psychological thriller that asks, How can you save someone else if you can’t save yourself? 

After years of learning how to manage her bipolar disorder, Emily Firestone finally has it under control. Even better, her life is coming together: she’s got a great job, her own place, and a boyfriend, Paolo, who adores her. So when Paolo suggests a weekend sailing trip, Emily agrees—wine, water, and the man she loves? What could be better? But when Emily wakes the morning after they set sail, the boat is still adrift…and Paolo is gone.

A strong swimmer, there’s no way Paolo drowned, but Emily is at a loss for any other explanation. Where else could he have gone? And why? As the hours and days pass by, each moment marking Paolo’s disappearance, Emily’s hard-won stability begins to slip.

But when Emily uncovers evidence suggesting Paolo was murdered, the investigation throws her mania into overdrive, even as she becomes a person of interest in her own personal tragedy. To clear her name, Emily must find the truth—but can she hold onto her own sanity in the process? 


Review

Okay, lots of good and some bad elements in this book that made me give this a solid 3.5 rating.

The good: It was easy to follow and read with a strong plot. All the plot points made sense and there were no loose ends at the end of the book. I may be in the minority here but I really enjoyed Cal’s character because of how put-together he was and for being in for the ups and downs of Emily’s quest for answers.

The bad: First person POV books are so difficult for me to read if I don’t feel a connection with the narrator and in this instance, there was a real disconnect between Emily and my own reading experience. She was just so unlikable. I tried - I really did try. I get that she has so many problems in her life, a lot of which I empathize with, but I just wanted to scream “GIRL, GET IT TOGETHER!” so many times that I lost count. She was a hot mess at the beginning of the book and a hot mess until the end - sort of redeeming herself in the epilogue but there wasn’t enough context for me to figure out if she really did keep it together or if it’s only because of Cal. Second bad: The plot twist I saw coming a mile away but I think I just read too many of psychological thrillers that I’ve spoiled and ruined the surprise element for myself.

Overall, a good book. Didn’t love it but I did enjoy reading it.

I received this book through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review. 

Review: A Wicked Reputation

Review: A Wicked Reputation

Review: Here and Now and Then

Review: Here and Now and Then