Review: Come and Get Me

Review: Come and Get Me

Come and Get Me by August Norman

Find it on Goodreads | Purchase it on Amazon


My Rating

4.0_Rating_TheReadingConspiracydotcom.png

Official synopsis

An intrepid journalist confronts a small town’s dark secrets in Come and Get Me, a breakneck thriller for fans of Tess Gerritsen and Julia Keller.

At Indiana University, someone’s been studying the female student body: their dating customs, nocturnal activities―and how long they can survive in captivity.

When award-winning journalist Caitlin Bergman is invited back to campus to receive an honorary degree, she finds an opportunity for a well-earned victory lap―and a chance to face the trauma that almost destroyed her as an undergrad. But her lap becomes an all-out race when a student begs her to probe an unsolved campus disappearance: Angela Chapman went out one Friday night and never came back.

To find the missing woman, Caitlin must join forces with a local police detective and the department that botched her own case so long ago. But while Caitlin follows the clues behind Angela’s disappearance, someone else is following her…

Unearthing secrets hidden beneath an idyllic Midwestern college town, Caitlin must expose what really happened to Angela―before she herself becomes the newest addition to a twisted collection.


Review

Come and Get Me was a wild ride. Caitlin was brave yet fearful, strong yet broken and tenacious yet weak. She was as real as it gets. I admired her strong will and desire to keep pushing boundaries and limits.

There was a lot going on in this book with a lot of supporting characters who essentially felt the same in that they all seemed like real people - full of problems, broken spirits and a hopefulness that things will work out in the end.

I enjoyed seeing it play out in my head, almost as if I was watching a movie. I appreciated how detail-oriented the plot was as well as tying up all loose ends by the end. I thought it was a great book - I liked it and enjoyed reading it but for some reason, I didn't love it.

I received this book through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review. 

Review: Sky in the Deep

Review: Sky in the Deep

Review: Spin the Dawn

Review: Spin the Dawn